The first-ever first-principles review of public health

RATIONALE FOR UNDERTAKING A FIRST-PRINCIPLES REVIEW OF PUBLIC HEALTH

In my TOI blog post in August 2020 & my October 2020 book I wrote about ways to ensure public health doesn’t deviate as much as it has from good policy principles.

But by end-2022 it was CLEAR that public health is a GANG OF CRIMINALS.  Much of economics and all of macro-economics is nothing but the pretense of knowledge. But 100% of public health is the pretense of knowledge.  This project began in early 2023, after I decided in late 2022 to undertake such a review. I’ve written a 4-part article in Times of India blog to explain the rationale (Download the combined PDF). And a summary article at Mises Wire on the topic.

I expect the review to take around 3-5 years to complete (say, by end-2027).

RESEARCH OUTPUT TO DATE

A) SUMMARY AND KEY FINDINGS

23 July 2023: Towards a science of infectious disease negative externalities

B) Presentations

a) 28 June 2023, to PANDATA:

https://sanjeev.sabhlokcity.com/Misc/PH-REVIEW-PANDA-28JUN23.pdf

b) 18 November 2023, to Australians for Science and Freedom:

https://sanjeev.sabhlokcity.com/Misc/Sabhlok-PH-review-ASF-Nov23.pdf

Report by journalist Alison Bevege on my presentation.

C) TIMES OF INDIA BLOG POSTS

9 June 2024: The livestock model of public health

19 May 2024: Ethics must be expunged from public health

1 February 2024: A need to re-think human rationality

29 May 2023: Recognising Dr Charles Maclean’s path-breaking work

7 May 2023: Quarantine is a fool’s errand – Part 1  | Part 2

24 April 2023: Social distancing and focused protection don’t work

10 April 2023: Public health ethics is useless at best, harmful at worst – Part 1| Part 2

6 April 2023: Border closures and lockdowns must be banned – Part 1 | Part 2

1 February 2023: Public health is not a science

17 December 2022: The case for disbanding public health in its current form – Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4

D) THIRTEEN BOOKS UNDER PREPARATION

SEQUENCE OF VERSIONS: Raw material > Preliminary sketch (sometimes with a version number)> Preliminary draft (with a version number)> Draft (with a version number)

The books in pink can be read even though they are at a preliminary stage. Most of the other are either too preliminary or heavily cluttered.

I’m preparing thirteen books on this topic for the India Policy Institute.

Book 1: (Preliminary sketch) Rationale for the review: preliminary observations

Book 2: (Preliminary sketch) The lies and killing fields of public health

Book 3: (Preliminary draft) The Malthusian-Marxist-Darwinian livestock model

Book 4: (Preliminary sketch) Public health scientism #1: Ethics and models

Book 5: (Preliminary sketch) Public health scientism #2: Everything but CBA

Book 6: (Draft) Quarantine: an egregious example of scientism

Book 7: (Preliminary sketch) Pigou’s Fabian socialist attack on Economics (this book buries the concept of externalities)

Book 8: (Draft) Vaccine mandates: another example of scientism

Book 9 (DraftMedical Panics: Nuclear Explosions of Fear

Book 10 (Draft) Panic Busting Isolation Hospitals, so we don’t burn $15 trillion on lockdowns ever again

Book 11: (Preliminary sketch) Recommendations from Books 1 to 10

Book 12: (Preliminary sketch) A first-principles review of public health

Book 13 – Also suggested for PH people to read: (Draft) The Missing Chapters in Economics Textbooks

I’ll be happy to have a separate Supplementary Book 14 that contains guest essays and analyses on various aspects of public health. These essays, without a word limit, will be in a normal academic style with cogent arguments and referencing. All links should (ideally) be to an archival website such as archive.org or archive.ph. Such essays, for which the copyright will belong to the respective author/s, will also be made available free of cost to the public in perpetuity on this website. Please write to me at sabhlok@gmail.com if you’d like to contribute.


ARCHIVAL


Update 1 July 2024

I’ve retired the five papers I had started and combined them or converted them into the above books. These five papers will continue to be available in the form they were in, as at 1 July 2024.

Paper 1: (Draft) Sanitarians vs Quarantinians

Paper 2: (Draft)  Medical Panics: Nuclear Explosions of Fear  [See also chapter 1 of this manuscript: The Missing Chapters in Economics Textbooks]

Paper 3: (Draft) Panic Busting: Isolation Hospitals, so we don’t burn $15 trillion on lockdowns ever again

Paper 4: (Draft) Never Vaccine Mandates.

Paper 5 Pigou’s Fabian socialist attack on Economics (this book buries the idea of externalities)

A derivative book: Missing Chapters in Economics Textbooks. This book arose as a spilloff of Papers 2 and 5.

Update: 24 April 2023

I had wanted to produce a first draft of my PH review by end-April 2023. That’s not possible.

Even though I’ve compiled 100,000+ words, a first draft (cogent and readable) will take another year. The content remains a sketch, continually updated.

Update: 13 March 2023

I’ve now updated the way forward for my PH review. The two-year, two-book plan in a nutshell:

I’ll follow the world-best 10-point policy review method that I’ve created: http://swarnabharat.in/Documents/SBP-Policy-Framework.pdf.

THE BACKGROUND OF THIS PROJECT AND ITS SCOPE

It is fine to critique the atrocious policies implemented during the covid episode. I’ve done a fair bit of that myself (Great Hysteria and The Broken State | Cost Benefit Analysis of Australia’s lockdowns + innumerable articles). But two things have emerged from my readings and analysis:

(a) this is not the first time that such hysteria has been created and damage caused by public health – instead, that has been the typical pattern for many decades; and

(b) there are incentive and information issues in public health which cannot be “fixed” except perhaps by completely downgrading its police powers. There is an INEVITABILITY about THE BAD BEHAVIOUR OF PUBLIC HEALTH.

I’m aware of a reasonable amount of literature on the first of these two issues but there is very little work on the latter. Further, I’m not aware of anyone who has combined the logic of these disparate analyses and made recommendations to permanently fix this recurring (and growing) problem.

In view of this situation, I’m attempting the broadest first-principles analysis of public health in human history.

A note on language and style:  Please note while I’m relatively polite in my TOI articles (else they won’t publish them), my book is not polite in any way towards PH criminals – even though I operate at the highest level of academic integrity, and everything I say can be readily validated. It would be like expecting me to say that Hitler was an “extremely wonderful and moral man who made a few mistakes”. I don’t do such things. I call a spade a spade. I want ALL public health “leaders” who supported border closures and lockdowns to be locked up for life behind bars. Solitary confinement.

My work on PH work is a reflection of my angst at the infinite points of failure we’ve allowed in the public health system, which was hijacked by the socialists around 150 years ago – post-JS Mill.

NOTES:

  1. Here’s a collection of articles by economists published in 2021 that provide an economic perspective on pandemics. I do not agree that public health can be retrieved. It is dangerous and must be quartered and buried.

Keywords

#AbolishPublicHealth

#lockdownHolocaust  |  also from Sanjeev_Sabhlok

#LockdownCrimesAgainstHumanity

 

 

 

sabhlok

https://ph.sabhlokcity.com

View more posts from this author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *